FRIDAY’S TONGUES

by Ross Sharp

Over at Groupthink, a post from Tongues about what Tony Abbott should really be doing about welfare, “Nation’s Pride”.

In other news, the magnificent Gil Scott-Heron recently released his first new album in almost 15 years, “I’m New Here”. He has spent much of that time in and out of prison on cocaine possession charges.

I first stumbled across Scott-Heron in the early 1980’s when, simply out of curiosity and because I liked the cover, I picked up his album “Reflections”.

And from that moment on, I was hooked.

“I’m New Here” is more a mini-album, clocking in as it does at roughly 30 minutes, but it’s only 20 bucks (less from Amazon) and well worth it.

His is a voice that, once heard … well, listen for yourself …

And then go out and buy it.

That’s an order.

