WHY SO SERIOUS?

by Ross Sharp

Firstly, over at Groupthink, I ponder the future of a regulated internet and offer a brief history of Australia from a young dinkum bloke …

And I posted this yesterday as a Tongue of the Day, but I’ve deleted that post and would like to add this …

We have all, over the years, suffered through that peculiar form of aural torture known as the “charity” or “tribute” song, which is typically some maudlin piece of feeble tripe performed at funereal pace by a bunch of lumpy old farts enthusiastically throwing their lumps about with wild and often embarrassing abandon and constipated expressions of pained sincerity wrinkling their already well-wrinkled faces (if I never hear R.E.M.’s “Everybody Hurts” or Leonard Cohen’s “Hallelujah” again in my life, I will die a happy man, and don’t even get me started on “We Are The World”).

However, on all too-rare occasions, some artists who still retain something in the way of musical credibility will throw something together for a worthy cause (Haiti in this case) that flat-out rocks the dog’s bollocks and flips the bird to all that other crap …

