SEND IN THE CLOWN

by Ross Sharp

I have a new post up at Groupthink on the issue of gay adoption, a concept that appears to have quite a few people in NSW all a-quiver in their fluffy slippers and jumping at shadows.

And late yesterday afternoon, I stumbled across this clip of Argentinean President Cristina Fernandez de Kirchner discussing, with a great deal of common sense and logic, the argument for gay marriage …

Bravo.

To other matters of import …

Last weekend I was fortunate enough to see a very sneaky preview of the film, “Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll”, a British biopic of Ian Dury. I’ll have a few more things to say about it in the July film wrap-up on Tongues, but what I can say for now is that Andy Serkis, who plays Dury, delivers the finest performance I’ve seen this year, and one of the finest I’ve ever seen, period.

Serkis (who, until now, was probably best known for his digitally enhanced performance as Gollum in the LOTR trilogy) was nominated for a BAFTA for Best Actor for his work, and, if there’s any justice in this world (fat chance of that, I know), he should at least be nominated for an Oscar next year.

It’s one of the most mesmerising and faultless pieces of acting you will see this, or any other year, and I simply cannot recommend it highly enough …

An Australian release date has yet to be determined, but hopefully it will have a cinema release in this territory and not go straight to DVD, but either way, I urge you, do not miss this movie.

I will spit at you if you do.

So there.

UPDATE: Another post from me today over at Groupthink, “Wilson’s Lament” (with apologies to John Cooper Clarke).

